Caring for the Community

on a Personal Level

What is an FQHC?

Umpqua Community Health Center is a Federally-Qualified Health Center,  or FQHC. A Community Health Center is a non-profit health care practice that provides high quality, cost-effective primary health care to anyone seeking care, regardless of their insurance status or ability to pay. FQHCs are:

  • Affordable and Open to Everyone. Fees are based on income and family size, whether or not you are insured.
  • Patient-Centered, Community Centered. UCHC is recognized by the State of Oregon as a Patient-Centered Primary Care Home. Watch this video to learn more.
  • Governed by Patients. At least 51 percent of the board members of an FQHC must be consumers of the health centers services, ensuring patient and community involvement in service delivery.
  • Improve Outcomes and Reduce Disparities. Community Health Centers are instrumental in reducing health disparities and improving outcomes for persons with chronic illness through care management.

UCHC began seeing patients in 1991 as the Open Door Clinic, the effort of a community task force intent on providing health care for the underserved. Located on Pine Street, the clinic provided 1,241 visits that first year. UCHC became an FQHC in 2000 and has grown to five service locations, providing primary medical, dental and mental health services. In 2016, UCHC provided over 45,000 patient visits.

UCHC is an FTCA Deemed Facility

The Federally Supported Health Centers Assistance Act of 1992 and 1995 granted medical malpractice liability protection through the Federal Tort Claims Act (FTCA) to HRSA-supported health centers. Under the Act, health centers are considered Federal employees and are immune from lawsuits, with the Federal government acting as their primary insurer.
More information is available here:

UCHC Board Members 2017-2018

Ruth Galster, President
Andrea Miner, Vice President
Chris Burnett, Treasurer
Gwen Graham-Gould, Secretary
Dr. Mark Herscher, Past President
Tamara Danville, Board Member
Jodee Jackson, Board Member
Nichole Louder, Board Member
Mindy McFerrin, Board Member
Janet Morse, Board Member
Angela Murphy, Board Member
Jacky Sohn, Board Member
Stacy Whittington, Board Member
Keri Winn, Board Member

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search